Uphill Racers

Go Back   Uphill Racers > Tech Talk
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Downloads Mark Forums Read

Tech Talk For questions & answers and regarding PC's, Operating Systems, Connections and all things computer related. Apple Mac not spoken here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-17, 12:23
Lolat492 Lolat492 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,449
Lolat492 will become famous soon enough Lolat492 will become famous soon enough
PC start-up time

I have a Lenovo PC, Windows 10 and it works!

However, over the last month or less the time to get the PC ready to log-in on initial switchon is very long and getting longer. It can be 5 mins or more.
I get the random selected beautifl picture, the time and date and if I double left click it shoud present me with the sign-in window for my code and then go to the screen with everything loading up. Loading uop takes around 5 to 10 seconds.

No after initial switch on the delay to get the sign-on window to display is over 5 mins, used to be around a minute or much less.

I think this was after a Microsoft upgrade of about 3 weeks.

Any ideas why the time has stretched out?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-17, 20:26
grahamb's Avatar
grahamb grahamb is offline
#UNLEARN
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fordshire
Posts: 3,971
grahamb will become famous soon enough grahamb will become famous soon enough
There can be many reasons for slow startup Graham, its very difficult to say without seeing event logs etc. It could indicate a file system error, or some piece of rogue software is doing all manner of things in the background. It might even be Windows security updates being applied, or your antivirus software performing a scan on bootup.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-17, 20:34
Lolat492 Lolat492 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,449
Lolat492 will become famous soon enough Lolat492 will become famous soon enough
Thanks for your reply.
The PC was checked by the internal Lenovo system security and all was well just 3 days ago.
I've just noticed the picture host I use, Postimage, has stopped working stating ' Internal Server Error (3)' instead of loading a picture off the pic library, but all was perfect yesterday with Postimage.

PC's never seem to work reliably!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-17, 20:45
Teddie2003 Teddie2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 153
Teddie2003 is on a distinguished road
I had the same type of problem in September following a windows update.

My laptop runs windows 10 and I used Firefox to then go on the web and the start time after logging in was getting to similar times that you have experienced.

Since the "update" I've had to revert to using MS Edge as I cannot get Firefox to work correctly at the moment. Using that all seems OK now apart from all the rubbish that MS edge throws up!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-17, 23:04
Lolat492 Lolat492 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,449
Lolat492 will become famous soon enough Lolat492 will become famous soon enough
At least lm not alone!
Bloody computers....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-17, 09:11
Lolat492 Lolat492 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,449
Lolat492 will become famous soon enough Lolat492 will become famous soon enough
Something positive.
I ran a full Kaspersky system check last night, took about 2 hours, 1/2 million files (!) and the PC runs mega fast in general.
This morning, now, switched on and left the PC for 4 mins, immediate sign-on.

Can this be about band width and such things?
I am in a cul de sac with a lot of teenage/adult users?
Will compare the performance this evening.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-17, 10:06
PumaWestie's Avatar
PumaWestie PumaWestie is offline
Purr louder pussy cat
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southam
Posts: 992
PumaWestie is on a distinguished road
The best option is to type MSCONFIG at a command prompt and then go to the Startup tab. On windows 10 there is a link to take you to the correct place as its moved I think.

Anyway, once in the startup section disable anything that you don't need at startup. A lot of PC manufacturers put all sorts of useless accessories, programs, links and tools in there and it slows the computer significantly
__________________
Will it ever be fast enough?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-17, 14:23
Lolat492 Lolat492 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,449
Lolat492 will become famous soon enough Lolat492 will become famous soon enough
That makes sense even to me.
All these Microsoft updates are security patches I guess, and I thought it might be all those flagging up things on start up.
Thank you for the suggestion.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright© 2007-2017 www.uphillracers.com